Skip to content

Concussions Don’t Cause CTE…

January 25, 2013

Results from various studies, including one using high school football players are showing repetitive hits, not concussions, are causing short and long term brain damage:

EXCERPTED FROM: http://www.lakelandtimes.com/main.asp?SectionID=9&SubSectionID=9&ArticleID=14780

On Feb. 3, Purdue University released an analysis of concussions among high-school football players by the Purdue Neurotrauma Group. Based on brain scans, the researchers determined that concussions “are likely caused by many hits over time and not from a single blow to the head, as commonly believed.”

In the study, researchers studied football players for two seasons at Jefferson High School in Lafayette, Ind. During the first season, according to the university, 21 players completed the field test, while 24 completed it in the second season, including 16 repeating players.

Players used helmet sensors, from which researchers compared impact data with brain-imaging scans and cognitive tests performed before, during and after each season, the university stated.

MRI scans of the players found that, as players got hit more and more, brain activity changed, and the players began to adapt their mental processes to deal with those changes. Essentially, the study found, the more impacts, the less functional capacity they had, and players then had to use a different strategy to perform a task at the same level as before.

So while performance might not have noticeably changed, brain activity did, the researchers found. And, the more hits a player took, and the more brain activity change there was, the more likely a concussion was to occur over time, according to the scan results.

“The most important implication of the new findings is the suggestion that a concussion is not just the result of a single blow, but it’s really the totality of blows that took place over the season,” said one of the researchers, Eric Nauman, an associate professor of mechanical engineering and an expert in central nervous system and musculoskeletal trauma. “The one hit that brought on the concussion is arguably the straw that broke the camel’s back.”

Read more here:   http://www.lakelandtimes.com/main.asp?SectionID=9&SubSectionID=9&ArticleID=14780

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Arthur permalink
    December 17, 2013 6:43 am

    I was a world class wrestler for many years.. during which time I experienced alot of head trauma. Only once was i knocked out cold for an extended period, but numerous times I had very jarring blows to the head where I wasn’t completely knocked out. My body would still be functioning (somewhat) but for one or two seconds I could not see anything and I had no idea where I was or what I was doing. Reality and my vision would come back after several seconds and I’d still be on my feet wrestling. Several times I told the trainers, who gave me some generic tests and said I was fine. Often I would feel hazy for the rest of the day or longer- I had this happen to me litterally dozens and dozens of times. Its been 2 years since I’ve trained/competed, and I’ve noticed I have a hard time concentrating, as well as irritability and other symptoms. Bottom line.. this stuff is no joke, and I wish I had known more when I was competing. God only knows what damage I’ve done. I truelly feel for your loss, as someone who has a slight idea of what your brother might have been going through..

Leave a Reply

